Let’s Be Tourists!

To anyone who knows me personally, it is probably no surprise that I hate being seen as a tourist. On the first day of DIS, being part of the pack of over a thousand Americans flooding out of the Royal Academy of Music after the opening ceremonies was the stuff of nightmares. Maybe it’s a deeply rooted cognitive resistance to being an outsider, maybe I’m just too easily embarrassed, but I believe the issue is that I am very conscious of being an American. I am also very proud to be an American, and I believe that America has done, and will do, great things. That being said, I hate it when I am recognized as an American abroad. I have found that when people realize I am an American, their behavior towards me changes. Some of these behavior changes are helpful (like when they start speaking English), but often I can see a set of assumptions immediately arise when Danes hear me speak. As a white male American, this is not something I have had to deal with very frequently, and while I am in no way conflating my experience as a privileged visitor in Denmark to the struggle for equality and respect faced by women and ethnic minorities worldwide, to be an outsider in the predominant culture is certainly an experience. I am lucky though, in that since getting my bearings in Denmark, it has become easier to blend in. Standing out is encouraged in America; “being yourself,” despite whatever insecurities or differences you may have is considered an admirable trait. Here though, it is the ability to be a seamless part of a crowd that is valued. So whatever my beliefs on individuality may be, and despite my general acceptance of myself, when trying to experience Denmark and really get a sense for the Danes it makes sense to blend in.

IMG_3126
Walking alone takes you to beautiful places.

I also feel a strong urge, almost an obligation, to represent America abroad in a way that doesn’t confirm the negative American stereotypes many people have here. I think the biggest stereotype about Americans in Denmark is that we’re too loud, and that we like to talk about how much we’ve drunk, and honestly, I haven’t really seen anything to convince me that these beliefs are untrue. There is a lot going on in Copenhagen, but because of the private nature of the Danes, you have to look a little closer, and speak a little softer to see it, and it some people are unable or unwilling to do that. If I had one piece of advice to students studying here, I would say to find a time at least once a week where you can be alone in the city, without talking. Wander, get lost, take a break from your social life (I promise it’s not going anywhere), see what appears when you are quiet. When you turn off your voice and turn on your senses, I promise you, Copenhagen will open its arms to you.

IMG_3129
Nyhavn from the water. 

That being said, sometimes the tourists get it right, something I was pleasantly surprised by this last weekend. I had a friend visiting, and as a result, did some things I might not have otherwise. Most notably a canal tour. Seriously, do not be dissuaded by the crowds, they’re there for a reason. Seeing Copenhagen from the water provides incredible views of most of the city’s most famous sites, and offers a fairly complete Copenhagen tour in the time span of an hour.

IMG_3135
Vor Frelsers Kirke.

Overall, an incredible week (the nice weather certainly helped). I also went to the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art but it deserves a post unto itself, seriously. Wow. Saying up absurdly late tonight to try to see Jamie xx, then heading off to Berlin on Sunday! Also got my first ever submission to my Ask box, hit it up if you have any questions or thoughts about Copenhagen or anything I write here. Till next time.

One thought on “Let’s Be Tourists!

  1. Julian, I admire how you think and reason. You are most certainly a mature and knowledgeable adult. The photos are beautiful. The advice of a canal tour was great. I’m proud to have you as a grandson😋

    Like

Leave a comment